The Squirrely Days of Summer

Lazy Squirrel Boring Summer

This is what is I saw in the backyard the other day. It seems even the Squirrels are on Summer Vacation

Deep summer is when laziness finds respectability.” – Sam Keen

 “Periods of wholesome laziness, after days of energetic effort, will wonderfully tone up the mind and body.” – Grenville Kleiser

Remember when you were a kid, and it seemed as though there was too much time? I can remember being a kid and having so much spare time during the summer that I could afford to spend entire days on activities such as coloring on the garage wall, breaking the world’s record for Pop-a-Wheelies, forcing Barbie to make out with Ken, or conducting scientific experiments to see exactly how many Oreos I could stack in a tower before they fell over.

Remember when a lazy summer day seemed to stretch on forever?  We spent a lot of time outdoors when I was a kid, mostly because my mother had had “just about enough of you kids” and kicked us out. We rode bikes, worked on our Coppertone tans, and had never-ending chinaberry wars with the mean boys down the street.  We had this awesome tree in our front yard that everyone in the neighborhood liked to climb. I can remember sitting up in that tree with my friends for hours, watching the cars go by, talking about the mean boys and wondering if they liked us, and generally doing absolutely nothing.

When was the last time you had absolutely nothing to do? I can’t remember either.  Those innocent days of idle laziness are long gone for us adults. In fact, the last 20 years of my life are a hazy blur. I’ve been on a broken merry-go-round of “work-eat-yell at kids-sleep-rinse-repeat” for so long, I don’t even remember what idleness is.  I’ve been so busy rushing around trying to meet the demands of family, work and home that I’ve barely had time for personal hygiene, which I am sometimes forced to perform in car. I can style my hair, put on mascara, apply deodorant and eat a breakfast taco, all while doing 70 mph.  That’s efficiency, people. I’m a regular productivity machine.

My point is that the older you get, the less you can afford to fart away your valuable time on wasteful and stupid activities such are reading this blog. If you are going to get things done, you need to learn some proven time management techniques, which we will not have time to discuss, after we waste a few more minutes being jealous of my teenagers, who are currently in full-blown Lazy Hazy Summer Mode.

Here’s what Amanda’s (16) busy schedule looks like this summer:

Noon:  Wake up from a 12-hour slumber

12:30: Skip breakfast because she’s too lazy to pour milk for cereal, it’s too exhausting.

12:30-12:40: Complain about being bored

12:40 to 3:40: Spend 3 hours making playlists on Spotify

3:40 to 3:45: Have heated argument with sister over the use of the Laptop

3:45 to 3:50: Complain about being bored

3:50 to 5:00: Update photos to Instagram, make comments on Facebook,

5:00 to 6:30: Force self to go sit outside with a book and sweat for a while.

6:30: Complain at the dinner table about mom’s Chicken Surprise

6:40 to 6:45: Complain about being bored

6:45 to 9:00: Check all social media sites for friend comments

9:00 to 9:10: Have another heated argument with sister over the use of the Laptop

9:10 to midnight: Make more playlists on Spotify, Look up You Tube videos on “How not to Be Bored This Summer”.

Can you imagine having that kind of time on your hands?  Me neither. I would give anything to have an entire summer off to lie around and do nothing. But you and I both know that the summers of our lives are very, very short, and that they end faster than a summer rain, which is why I don’t really mind that she’s laying around a lot. 

The past school year was harder than ever, with homework demands taking her well past midnight and on weekends.  And next year, the work will be even harder. The truth is, she worked her butt off, made excellent grades, and earned her Lazy Summer Days.  The thing that makes me sad, though, is knowing that the lazy summers of her life are numbered, and that someday soon, the demands of college, family and work will take away all the wonder of idle days.

Don’t you wish you could make them understand that boredom is a GIFT, something to be enjoyed? But you can’t, because you’re on your way to work, and you’re too busy brushing your teeth in the car.

About thedaughterdiaries

How about a good laugh? Check out my hilarious blog about a real mom raising teen girls. I promise it will make you pee in your Depends. Yeah, my two cute toddlers turned into snarky teenagers when I wasn’t looking, and now, DAMN, I’m pretty sure they’re plotting against me. Here’s a secret for all you moms of cute toddlers out there.... when you get to the teen years, things are not much better, I'm sorry to say. They still act exactly like toddlers...wild mood swings, strange sleep patterns, irrational behavior, crying fits and screaming. Wait..that last one is mostly me. Only now I can't bribe them with candy like I used to. Free advice: use as many candy bribes as possible while you still can!!
This entry was posted in Funny Teen Humor, Humor Blogs, Idleness of Summer, Lazy Summer, Moms and Teens Humor, Moms of Teenagers, Summer and Teens, Teenage Girls, Teens and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Squirrely Days of Summer

  1. Mom says:

    You are so right. The carefree days of a youth’s summer vacation can never be repeated again. Those precious few months of one’s school years are a gift as you said. Mom

Hello? Are you Reading This? Leave me a Comment!

